Sardinian Silver by A. Colin Wright

August 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm (Crime Novels, mystery, romance, Suspense Novels) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


S.SilverBOOK ORDERS, contact                                                                                                                                                                                               ITALIAN CULTURE                    

www.iUniverse.com   or http://www.amazon.ca                                                                                                                       

Tel: 1-800-AUTHORS                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    

Finding One’s Self on a Romantic Island That Time Forgot

Sardinian Silver

 

KINGSTON, ONTARIO – How many young people have dreamt of self and sexual discovery in a far off, exotic place? Arthur Fraser, the main character of Sardinian Silver (published by iUniverse) by A. Colin Wright, not only dreamt of it, he realized his dream. Recruited to represent a travel firm from his homeland of Great Britain, Arthur arrives in the resort town of Alghero on the Island of Sardinia in the Mediterranean Sea and is instantly bewitched. Based on his own time on Sardinia, Wright’s captivating and oftentimes hilarious novel follows the exploits of a young man trying to find love while assimilating to an archaically orthodox society.

 

Sardinian Silver opens with Arthur sailing across the Tyrrhenian Sea towards his new home. On his journey to Sardinia, Arthur meets a native Sardinian named Gavino. Eager to make a new friend, let alone a British one, Gavino strikes up a conversation with Arthur and quickly offers to show Arthur his island. Gavino is the first in a cavalcade of characters, serious, humorous and tragic, that help make Sardinian Silver the engaging recollection that it is.

 

Once settled into the Sardinian resort at which he is working, Arthur sets out on achieving the one thing he wants most; finding a Sardinian girlfriend. He knows that this will not be easy, as Gavino has already warned him. Sardinia in the 1960s was still very culturally undeveloped. Sardinia’s residents viewed mainland Italians and continentals (the British counted among them) as immoral and contaminated by modern society. Still, this does not dissuade Arthur from his task.

 

It was ten past nine. Quickly the girls had gone.

Parties like this were so promising, yet so empty. I recall another one, with Gavino and some of Marcella’s friends, where one girl enjoyed a few hidden caresses while we clutched together publicly, but reacted scornfully when I attempted to get her outside alone, and the others were quite shocked. Except for Marcella, who made fun of me. Hug and hold tightly in a dance, but be satisfied with this brief, despairing feel of another body, for it’s all you’re going to get unless you pay a prostitute for more: southern Italy in a nutshell. Yet Sardinia was a land of promise, which I loved even if it remained unfulfilled.

 

In the tradition of Brideshead Revisited and The Lost Girl, Sardinian Silver is a charming and witty novel of growth, loss and realization that is sure to delight even the most critical reader.

 

A. Colin Wright was born and raised in the county of Essex, England. After serving as a linguist in the British Royal Air Force, Wright attended Cambridge University where he earned undergraduate and graduate degrees. In 1964, he was appointed a professor of Russian at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. He remained at Queen’s until his retirement in 1999 and still resides there today. Dr. Wright is married and has two grown sons. See also www.sardiniansilver.com and www.acolinwright.ca

 

Available from www.iuniverse.com                ISBN Hardcover 978-0-595-71601-2 Also at http://www.amazon.ca                                                                    Paper        978-0-595-48100-2

###

Permalink 1 Comment

The Trojan Project By Eileen Thornton

August 6, 2009 at 1:47 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


  The Trojan Project Distressed at the disappearance of Pete, her husband, Sarah Maine is further alarmed when a sinister green light hovers over the Cheviots. Next day she finds Dave in the lane, his flesh melting. Barely alive, he warns her not to touch him and tells her that Pete is already dead. However, unbeknown to him, Pete is trapped in a cave with Josh, two dogs and some sheep. Sarah goes to the police. Sergeant Gilmore and Constable Manners go to check Sarah’s story leaving her with Constable Andy Simmonds. Finding Dave’s remains, the sergeant makes notes, but accidentally touches the melted flesh. His fingers start to melt. Manners tries to contact the station, but can’t get through. Bandaging Gilmore’s hand, he touches the fingers. Driving back, his hand begins to melt. Horrified, he veers off the road and crashes the car. At the station, Andy Simmons can’t hear his colleague’s report and believes the hills are blocking the signal. But his suspicions are aroused at the army’s sudden appearance, asking for Sarah by name. Were they listening to the police radio? Andy convinces Sarah of the danger and they begin a perilous journey to her parent’s home in London. Sarah is sure her father, as head of the government’s Scientific Affairs, will find out what happened. But with the military blocking the road at every turn, will they get to London safely. Meanwhile what has happened to Pete? And what was the mysterious light in the sky? There are so many questions, yet who has the answers?

Reviews:

 

Reviews for The Trojan Project

 

(5 Stars)  Terrifyingly Real –  An Edge of the Seat Thriller from Start to Finish!

 

The Trojan Project is, without a doubt, one of the finest thrillers by a debut novelist I have read in a very long time. This book had me hooked from page one and the storyline was so terrifyingly plausible that it sent shivers down my spine. Eileen Thornton weaves an ingenious plot and the characters are all too recognisable as normal, everyday people caught up in a horrendously frightening situation, where no-one is what they seem and no-one knows who to trust. The villains of the piece are all the more villainous because of what, rather then who they are, and I found myself cheering for the heroes of the book as they slowly unravelled the mystery behind the ghastly Trojan Project. The truly chilling part of this tale is that the scenario the author has skillfully created just might happen one day, and as a result, I found my heart beating a little faster at times as the chilling reality of that fact made itself so clearly evident. The book reminded me very much of the works of one of my own literary favourites, Robert Goddard and that is probably the highest compliemt I can pay to this author. The Trojan Project is without a doubt a beautifully crafted and chillingly superb read and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone with a love for the thriller genre. Bravo, Eileen Thornton!

 

Brian L Porter

Author, A Study in Red – The Secret Journal of Jack the Ripper

The Preditors & Editors Best Thriller Novel of 2008 Award Winner.

———————————————————————————————

This story kept me on the edge of my chair from page one.
Masterfully written, Eileen Thornton has captured the essence of events that are plausible and have a very real possibility of coming about in our world today.
This a very thrilling story that draws the reader in and holds them captive until the very climax of the book.
I have not read much of the Suspense/Thriller genre, however, if any of the future titles by this author come available, I will certainly be looking for them with relish.
This is a must title for any fan of the genre!

 

Donald Drake, author of The Coming of The One
————————————————————————————————–

This book is not to be missed, it will keep you on the edge of your seat all the way to the last page. I couldn’t put it down, and I can’t wait for Eileen Thornton’s next book. Terrrrific!!!!!

 

Gina Brandom

—————————————————————————————————–

What can I say…couldn’t put the book down until the end! If I had the money I’d purchase the FILM RIGHTS as this book would make a cracking BRITISH FILM….awaiting her next book.

 

Malcolm Bogaert

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Trojan-Project-Eileen-Thornton/dp/1905609094/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1248872131&sr=8-1
 
http://www.amazon.com/Trojan-Project-Eileen-Thornton/dp/1905609094/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1248872079&sr=8-1
 
Best wishes,
 
Eileen Thornton
The Trojan Project – Nominated for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2009
Order your copy from my website – £8.99
www.eileenthornton.co.uk
 

Permalink 1 Comment

%d bloggers like this: